Santorini Sunrise Sunset

I See Magic Every Day.

I live on a beautiful island in a beautiful country. No season is the same, no sunset is the same and everywhere you go it looks different. Colours change – Springtime Pastel, Summer Gold, Autumn Fantasy. Winter is darker, more sombre – Curl up on your sofa with a hot chocolate time of year, another kind of beauty. Santorini is extraordinary.

Santorini Sunrise © jld web

Santorini Sunset © jld web

Sunrise is for All Nighters & Early Morning Folk.

I’ve seen it quite a few times, could be I was out all night, could be I was sleepless, could be I had to catch the ferry to the mainland. There is a quiet, a stillness and a freedom. You know everyone else is in bed and it’s only you.

Barefoot I pad around my veranda. I go the the edge and place my coffee on the low wall. Oh that I were a bird to fly, to soar. I hold out my arms in the breeze. I dance and twirl. In the distance lights twinkle. I breathe in the night air, almost dawn now. Sparrows are waking, I know the sound so well, little chirps rising in crescendo.

I am in paradise.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Shell says:

    For a fleeting moment I was transported to Santorini.
    Thank you for delighting my senses in your magical story about your little piece of paradise.
    I got chills at the end of your story and I wished it didn’t end….

    1. joanna says:

      Shell, my sweet friend, thank you. There are still little pockets of paradise here on this island .. in spite of many humans who only think of profit

    1. joanna says:

      Yes I am Laurie. Santorini offers truly magic moments

  2. margaret says:

    I have lived 70 yrs and my lifes dream is to go where you are, you are so blessed.oh such beauty. I live alone and times are hard but I have my dreams,please stay in touch. thank you maggie

    1. joanna says:

      Maggie hi, nice to meet you. We too are going through hard times here in Greece. But I am lucky because the beauty is my compensation. Be well, best wishes for 2016

Say something

