A Nation is judged by the way its animals are treated

Mahatma Gandhi said “The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its’ animals are treated”. I have been scratching my head for the past few hours trying to find a country which fits that description. And I couldn’t find one. Not one. If you fall into the “kind nation” category, please pipe up. Please enlighten me. Because I don’t know who you are. Or where you are. Maybe your country is not even on the world map. Maybe it’s in a hidden corner of the planet, some place we haven’t managed to rape, pillage and slaughter – yet.

Please stay hidden, please don’t advertise your whereabouts. Just send me a secret message that you exist. And I will thank you, send you a kiss and delete immediately. I will keep your secret. And I will travel the world, gathering animals from test labs, canned farms, sea worlds, mass production farm factories, slaughter houses – I will guide the yearly-massacred seals off the coast of Canada to your shores, I will travel to Patagonia and rescue the lambs who are skinned alive, I will …

Or maybe I will try my hand at murder – to see how it feels. But my prey will not be four legged, or finned, or winged, it will not have whiskers, or tails or scales. I will hire a guide and go on safari – world safari. I will do it your way. I will be merciless. I will find the trophy hunters, poachers, killers and all things evil. You know who you are. You know what you’re doing. And so do we.

Say something

