For Grandma’s Eyes

I don’t say Gramma or Grandma for that matter, Granny is my word. But Gramma is Shell’s word so that is what I’ll use. This is not my Gramma. This Gramma belongs to Shell. And Shell belongs to her. Gramma just had her 97th birthday. Ninety seven summers and ninety seven winters. Ninety seven years to see the world. Ninety seven years to store memories.

Happy Birthday Gramma!

Portrait of Gramma

Three years ago Gramma went blind. So Shell quit her job and moved to Gramma’s house. To care for her. And to share with her. But mostly to make her a daily ‘Breakfast of Kings’. And bring pizza and beer, Gramma’s favourite. Gramma’s a cool lady, she listens to Nat King Cole. She comes from a time when the world was still the world, not the mess we live in. When people still said ‘good morning’ to their neighbour. And kindness was not considered code for sucker.

Recently Gramma made a big decision. She decided to move to a care facility. She was ready for a new adventure, to make new friends and see life afresh.

As She Explained To Shell

“This has been the only house that I have owned in my entire life. It has been such a joy. This house has made my life full – a treasure for me and my family. Once I moved in here I never moved again until now at 97. I loved gardening and tending to the yard. I loved seeing my family come in & out of the front door throughout the years for birthday parties and holidays but also to be consoled in times of disappointment & heartbreak. This house has provided a lifetime of stability, memories & comfort for family & our beloved pets … for that I am grateful. Now it’s time to move on. Gracias a mi casita … Adios”

We spend the first part of our life rejecting the wisdom of elders and the second part trying to follow in their footsteps. I suspect that Shell’s Gramma is a tough act to follow. And a lesson to us all. Nice to meet you Gramma!

Update and Some Sad News

Gramma passed away three days ago, on the 13th February 2017, after a century of life, love and adventure. She will be dearly missed. My deepest sympathies to Shell and her family. Bon Voyage Gramma.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Shell says:

    Dear Joanna,
    I am deeply humbled and honored by this beautiful story you wrote about my Gramma. Thank you from the bottom of my heart, I will cherish this piece of yours forever and will pass it along to my family as well.
    Your talent as a writer never ceases to amaze me. Your huge heart and way with words is a winning combination my dear friend.
    Thank you.

    1. joanna says:

      Shell, thank you – Gramma has inspired me, and so have you with your patience & love

  2. Shell Kelsay says:

    Thanks for sending the link I didn’t know how to save it :)

  3. Teresa Clark says:

    Now this is a beautiful story Johanna…you are so right about the first part of our life…I love being around much older people…they grow in wisdom…well written. ..she is someone I would have enjoyed.

  4. Shell says:

    Thank you for this well written, heartfelt post about my sweet Gramma dear friend. I will cherish it forever…..

    1. joanna says:

      You’re welcome my friend. Many hugs and kisses

Say something

