Santorini Snow

Does It Snow In Santorini? Sure It Does.

I remembered that I had some photos from way back when, and in the spirit of Christmas I thought I’d show them to you. To be honest, I’m not really a “Christmassy” person. Discovering that all this hype about “Ho Ho Ho Jolly Father Christmas is sledding on his Merry Way” originated from a very old Coca Cola campaign didn’t help. But I do love a bit of snow – being from a hot country I rarely ever see it.

Fira, in front of the Mitropolis. Everybody was out playing in the snow © JLD Web
Fira, in front of the Mitropolis. Everybody was out playing in the snow © JLD Web

18th February 2008.

We woke up in the morning and discovered the island was covered in a blanket of snow. Pyrgos village, the highest point on the island, looked like a mini Switzerland. Down on the coastal shoreline the beaches were also covered in snow – it had crept over the seafront road right into the open-air bars and restaurants which were shut for the winter.

Behind the main square in Fira © JLD Web
Behind the main square in Fira © JLD Web

We jumped into the car and started touring the island. There was snow EVERYWHERE. People were driving around with rush-job mini snowmen on the bonnets of their cars, we kept ooohing and aahing “look there’s snow there, oh look, there’s even more over there, oh LOOK, that guy’s throwing a snowball”. Great being a kid again.

The old people on the island told us that it hadn’t snowed for 60 years or so. But since that day, it’s snowed 3 more times, although never as thick and heavy, and melting very fast. Last winter I noticed a few snowflakes falling outside my living room window. We froze.

Santorini Snow - Hi ho hi ho, down the Caldera path we go © JLD Web

Santorini - The Famous Gold Street in Fira. Winter of 2008 © JLD Web
The Famous Gold Street in Fira. Winter of 2008 © JLD Web
33 Comments Add yours

    1. joanna says:

      Amazing isn’t? who can imagine Santorini with snow? :)

  1. You don’t get to see that often! :D

    1. joanna says:

      yeah, we couldn’t believe it. almost like waking up somewhere else :)

      1. I know!!! It doesn’t snow much in Chania either!

  2. I am amazed! I had no idea it snowed there! Excellent photos by the way…

    1. joanna says:

      I didn’t either until it snowed :) I was shocked and amazed :)

  3. Amazing – not at all like the usual Santorini pictures

    1. joanna says:

      Thanks:) Most of the pictures you find of Santorini are typical tourist shots. These were taken by us :)

  4. Beautifull!!!
    Happy New Year!

    1. joanna says:

      Thank you Pedro, Happy New Year to you :)

  5. tas.o.s. says:

    I wanted more snow .. :-(

      1. joanna says:

        ahahahaha – kai den me lupasai :P ?

      2. joanna says:

        here where? Athens? North Pole? Santorini?

      3. joanna says:

        aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa kala, tha prosexw ti lew :P

      4. tas.o.s. says:

        Entometaxi parathrw thn photografia sou… An se petyxw sto dromo 8a se arpaxw kai 8a sou kanw xilies erwthseis! Thelw kai egw na ma8w na vgazw toso wrees fwtografies.! Opote prosexe!

      5. joanna says:

        xmmm, de tha me katalabeis – foraw perouka – Halloween sto Tropical :)

      6. tas.o.s. says:

        Hahahah thn glytwses.

      7. joanna says:

        so you just have to settle for the blog – life is soooooooo cruel :)

  6. tas.o.s. says:

    Den sou aresei to xioni???

    1. joanna says:

      Plaka kano – I love it – BUT – my house gets freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeezing

    2. joanna says:

      loipon back to the film I was watching :)

  7. neonspndx says:

    This is so gorgeous!! Very jealous of your locale!

    1. joanna says:

      :) it’s beautiful and surprising isn’t it?

  8. Wow! that is beautiful. I had to see these awesome pictures to believe it! I loved my warmer visit to Santorini but it is so wonderful to see it’s beauty outside of it’s usual sunsetting glow.

Say something

